Cascadilla Falls in Cascadilla Gorge aka Giant Staircase

Critical Environmental Areas – Unique Geologic Features


As I was working on some ongoing research, I came across this page on the NYS DEC page. What I found interesting was the areas of concern and the popularity of these areas.

Listed below is just some of the areas listed.

What is considered a critical environmental area?

A Critical Environmental Area (CEA) is a geographic area with
exceptional or unique character with respect to one or more of
the following:
– a benefit or threat to human health;
– a natural setting such as fish and wildlife habitat, forest and
vegetation, open space, and areas of important aesthetic or
scenic quality;
– agricultural, social, cultural, historic, archeological,
recreational, or educational values; or
– an inherent ecological, geological, or hydrological
sensitivity that may be adversely affected by any change.

  • Cascadilla Creek, Tompkins County
  • Ithaca Falls Park, Tompkins County
  • Ausable Falls, Clinton County
  • Fall Brook,¬†Livingston County
  • Whiteface Mountain, Essex County
  • Watkins Glenn Gorge, Schuyler County
  • Letchworth State Park, Wyoming County
  • John Boyd Thacher State Park, Albany County
  • Saratoga Springs State Park, Saratoga County
  • Chimney Bluffs State Park, Wayne County
  • Wiscoy Falls, Allegany County
  • Buttermilk Falls State Park, Cayuga County
  • Chittenango Falls State Park, Madison County
  • Cohoes Falls, Saratoga County


You might also enjoy:

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.